We have now spoken with 15 companies (as of October 2019). Some of our hypotheses were confirmed; some we can reject.

Hypothesis 1: a fractal approach is one key to success

One hypothesis was that new work and self-organization can best be implemented using a fractal approach. To this end, one works with those units that are open to change and positive about it. These units are leveraged to implement changes, learn, implement initial pilot projects and thus create success. These successes and success stories in turn create curiosity in other units and make them ready for change. A positive spiral builds up.

In fact, we have found this approach in some of the companies surveyed. Starting with positive emotion, taking away fears and anxiety – if necessary – and conveying purpose with change as a starting point has worked well several times. The remaining work gets done through relationships, the networks in the organization.

Hypothesis 2: implementation means ‘all or nothing’

Another hypothesis was the ‘all-or-nothing approach.’ The hypothesis was that self-managed teams (when we talk about ‘teams’ we mean areas/departments/teams) and hierarchically managed teams cannot work together productively: too different are the speed of the decision-making processes, too different the working processes, the approaches, the perspectives on people, too different the ‘brain states’ (see article 6 Trends and Insights).

We can clearly falsify this hypothesis on the basis of our interviews so far. It’s working. The prerequisite seems to be that expectations and the different procedures between the teams are addressed and clarified.

Hypothesis 3: Self-management leads to increased performance

Another hypothesis was formulated in the very clear expectation that self-organization would lead to increased performance in the teams.

This hypothesis is of course highly relevant. At the same time there are different results. While Michael Y. Lee could not find a KPI increase in a field experiment, Frédéric Laloux in Reinventing Organizations describes the positive effects and the high performance of self-managed companies several times.

In the companies we examined, the picture was consistently positive. This may be due to the fact that a change in strategy was often associated with the introduction of (more) self-organization. As a result, a KPI increase was at least partially immanent.

In addition, however, other aspects beyond classical KPIs have often come into focus. Aspects such as commitment, fun at work (positive emotion), flexibility, purpose and relationship became more relevant. Positive effects were found with regards to these aspects.

Expect us to check further hypotheses in our next articles.

Inzwischen haben wir mit 15 Unternehmen gesprochen (Stand Oktober 2019). Einige unserer Hypothesen haben sich bestätigt; einige durften wir verwerfen.

Hypothese 1: ein fraktaler Ansatz ist ein Schlüssel zum Erfolg

Eine Hypothese war, dass sich New Work und Selbststeuerung am besten fraktal umsetzen lassen. Dazu arbeitet man mit den Bereichen, die der Veränderung offen und positiv gegenüberstehen. Mit diesen Bereichen setzt man die Veränderungen um, lernt, setzt erste Pilotprojekte um und schafft somit Erfolge. Diese Erfolge und Erfolgsgeschichten wiederum machen andere Bereich neugierig und bereit für die Veränderung. Eine positive Spirale baut sich auf.

Tatsächlich haben wir diesen Ansatz in einigen der untersuchten Unternehmen gefunden. Mit positiver Emotion starten, ggf. Ängste nehmen und Sinn mit der Veränderung vermitteln als Startpunkt hat mehrfach gut funktioniert. Die weitere Arbeit macht dann die Beziehung, die Netzwerke in der Organisation.

Hypothese 2: In der Umsetzung gibt es nur alles oder nichts

Eine weitere Hypothese war der „alles-oder-nichts-Ansatz.“ Der Gedanke war, dass selbstgesteuerte Teams (wenn wir von „Teams“ sprechen, meinen wir Bereiche/Abteilungen/Teams) und hierarchisch geführte Teams nicht produktiv zusammenarbeiten können: zu unterschiedlich die Geschwindigkeit der Entscheidungsprozesse, zu unterschiedlich die Arbeitsprozesse, die Herangehensweisen, die Menschenbilder, zu unterschiedlich der „Zustand der Gehirne“ (siehe Artikel 6 Trends und Erkenntnisse).

Diese Hypothese können wir auf der Basis unsere Interviews bislang klar falsifizieren. Es funktioniert. Voraussetzung scheint zu sein, dass Erwartungen und die unterschiedlichen Vorgehensweisen zwischen den Teams thematisiert und geklärt werden.

Hypothese 3: Selbststeuerung führt zur Performancesteigerung

Eine weitere Hypothese war in der ganz klaren Erwartung formuliert, dass Selbststeuerung zu Performancesteigerung in den Teams führt.

Diese Hypothese ist selbstverständlich hochrelevant. Gleichzeitig gibt es unterschiedliche Ergebnisse hierzu. Während Michael Y. Lee in einem Feldexperiment keine KPI-Steigerung finden konnte, beschreibt Frédéric Laloux in Reinventing Organizations mehrfach die positiven Effekte und die hohe Leistung selbstgesteuerter Unternehmen.

In den von uns untersuchten Unternehmen ist das Bild durchwegs positiv. Das mag daran liegen, dass häufig eine Strategieänderung mit der Einführung von (mehr) Selbstorganisation verbunden war. Dadurch war eine KPI-Steigerung zumindest teilweise immanent.

Darüber hinaus sind jedoch häufig andere Aspekte als klassische KPIs in den Fokus geraten. Aspekte wie Engagement, Spaß an der Arbeit (positive Emotion), Flexibilität, Sinn (purpose) und Beziehung wurden relevanter. Bei diesen Aspekten lassen sich durchweg positive Effekte finden.

Weitere Hypothesenchecks folgen in den nächsten Artikeln.